MN Gubernatorial Debate set for Oct 8th at MSUM

A debate between Governor Mark Dayton and MN Gubernatorial candidate Jeff Johnson is scheduled to be held at Hansen Theatre on the MSU Moorhead campus.

The event is free and open to the public.

Please come to support Governor Dayton on his bid for re-election.

  • Date: October 8th
  • Time: 7:00 pm
  • Where: Hansen Theatre, MSU Moorhead campus
    1104 7th Ave S, Moorhead, MN
  • Duration: 90 minute debate
  • Audience can send questions to: or via Twitter hashtag: #mngov
  • Broadcast live on WDAY Channel 6.3 and WDAZ Channel 8.3
  • Live streamed on: and

Join us early for a rally before the debate:

  • Time: 5:00 – 6:30 pm
  • Where: Comstock Memorial Union, MSUM (Room #101)

    Flyer Link

    Upcoming Parades

    Please consider walking with our candidates to show your support this election season.

    MSU Moorhead Homecoming Parade

    • September 27th
    • Parade begins: 11:00 am
    • Arrive: 30 minutes prior (10:30 am)
    • Ben is number #9
    • Line up is in the parking lot between 10th and 11th Street and 6th and 7th Avenue (northwest corner of campus).

    MN Rep. Ben Lien schedules meetings

    Mark your calendars!

    MN District 4A Representative Ben Lien has ONE meeting left before he returns to work at the Minnesota Legislature later this month:

    Feb. 13, Reinertson School, 7 p.m.

    Senator Kent Eken (DFL-Twin Valley) will join Rep. Lien as his schedule allows.

    Please attend and thank Rep Lien for cosponsoring the $100 million bonding request for housing/homeless programs!

    Election Day Results from Around Clay County


    Moorhead has a NEW mayor!

    Del Rae Williams will become Moorhead’s first female mayor. She will replace Mark Voxland, who chose not to run for re-election.

    City Council member Brenda Elmer will be returning for another term representing Ward 3. New council members Mari Dailey, Jim Haney, and Chuck Hendrickson will represent Ward 1, 2, and 4 respectively beginning January 2014.

    Voters also chose to switch Moorhead municipal elections to even years.

    Mayor Voxland has served Moorhead as a member of city council for 14 years and as mayor for 12 years. We wish to thank Mayor Voxland on his long years of service to the City of Moorhead. We would also like to thank Mark Altenburg for his service on the city council from Ward 2.

    For full election results, go to the MN Secretary of State site – Moorhead results.


    Eugene Prim ran unopposed as Mayor of Barnesville. He won with 308, with 149 write-in votes. Incumbent Jason Rick won against opponents Wayne Cook and Dennis Braton, Sr.

     For full election results, go to the Barnesville Results of Election site.


    Mayor Chad Olson ran unopposed for his second term. Incumbent Jim Aasness won re-election and Jason Kakac was elected to fill the two open seats on the Dilworth City Council.

    For full election results, go to the MN Secretary of State site – Dilworth results.

    Moorhead elections slated for November 5th

    Moorhead residents will elect a new Mayor and City Council members on Tuesday, November 5th.

    A number of public panels have been held so far in the lead up to Election Day. Please refer to the links below for more information.


    Voting Locations – City of Moorhead 2013 Election

    Fargo Forum: At a glance: Moorhead mayoral candidates on the issues – 10/27/2013

    League of Women Voters Panel – 10/15/2013

    Moorhead Mayoral Candidates
    Moorhead City Council Candidates – Wards 1 & 2
    Moorhead City Council Candidates – Wards 3 & 4