DFL Dispatch – 5th Annual Humphrey Mondale Dinner a huge success

Thank you to everyone who made the 5th Annual Humphrey Mondale Dinner an amazing success. With more than 4,000 guests, and bringing in a record $1 million, this was the largest event in the party’s history.

Special guest speakers Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders made passionate speeches about their vision for our future. Our candidates were sharp, smart and showed they understand how to build on the incredible economic progress we’ve made over the last seven years. After seven years of Democratic leadership in the White House, our country is more secure than ever, the economy is adding jobs at a record pace, and the American people are safer and healthier.

Clinton and Sanders made clear they have the right priorities — priorities that match the values, hopes and dreams of the American people.

Other highlights of the evening included the presentation of the Hubert H. Humphrey Awards for Dedication and Leadership to the Minnesota DFL to Libby Keefe and Corey Day and the Joan and Walter Mondale Award for Public Service to Congressman Keith Ellison. Look for more about these amazing leades in next week’s DFL Dispatch.

With the success of the dinner, DFLers showed Minnesotans that we have the enthusiasm, energy and excitement to elect the next Democratic president, send a Democrat to Washington D.C. to represent Congressional District 2, keep the majority in the Minnesota Senate, and regain the majority in the Minnesota House of Representatives. Thank you again for your support at the Dinner and all that you’ll do in the coming months to elect candidates committed to working for prosperity for all, not just a wealthy few.

DFL Coordinated Campaign Office looking for volunteers

The DFL Coordinated Campaign Office is open at 415 Main Avenue in Moorhead.

Please stop by to help us promote our DFL-endorsed candidates:

Help us elect your local DFL-endorsed candidates:

If you are interested in helping with this effort, or have questions, please contact Mark Altenberg or stop by our DFL campaign office at 415 Main Avenue, Moorhead.

Fish Fry Scheduled for October 22nd

Please join us on Wednesday the 22nd for a Fish Fry with Representative Collin Peterson. Collin is in a tough race this year and could really use our support. Hope to see you there.

When: October 22nd
Time: 6:00 to 8:00 pm
Where: Dilworth Community Center

Everyone is welcome. Donations of any amount would be appreciated. 

Save these Dates!

Thank you for everyone who came out on a cold February evening to participate in the DFL caucus on Tuesday, February 4th.

For those who agreed to be Delegates or Alternates for the next step leading up to the State Convention, please mark the following dates on your calendar/day planner:

Clay County DFL Convention – DONE!
When: Saturday, March 1st
Time: 10:00 am
Location: M State Moorhead
1900 – 28th Ave S
Moorhead, MN

District 4 Nominating Convention:
When: March 22nd
Time: TBD
Location: Whistle Stop Cafe (tentative)
Hawley, MN

Congressional District 7 Convention:
When: Saturday, April 26th
Time: 2:00 – 5:00 pm
Location: Prairie’s Edge Casino
5616 Prairies Edge Ln
Granite Falls, MN

5616 Prairies Edge Ln, Granite Falls

DFL State Convention:
When: May 30 – June 1st
Location: Duluth Entertainment and Convention Center
350 Harbor Drive
Duluth, MN

Duluth Entertainment and Convention Center Duluth
Minnesota – See more at: http://www.dfl.org/events/2014-dfl-state-convention/?instance_id=755437#sthash.dSt6IK6b.dpuf

Congratulations to our DFL Candidates!

Thanks to a successful ‘get out the vote’ effort and our excellent candidates, District 4 is sending the following elected officials to the Minnesota State Legislature:

  • Kent Eken – MN Senate District 4 (results)
  • Ben Lien – MN House of Representatives District 4A (results)
  • Paul Marquart – MN House of Representatives District 4B (results)

In his bid to replace retiring MN Senator Keith Langseth, Kent Eken won 19,833 votes (52.17%) to Phil Hansen’s 18,132 votes (47.70%). There were 49 write-ins.

Ben Lien won over Travis Reimche by a margin of 10,011 votes to 8,218 votes for District 4A. Ben received 54.80% of the vote to Reimche’s 44.99%. There were 39 write-in votes.

In his bid for re-election for MN State Representative in District 4B, Paul Marquart received 12,637 votes to 6,719 received by his challenger Paul Sandman. Representative Marquart received 65.23% of the vote to Sandman’s 34.68%. There were 16 write-in votes.

Thanks to ALL who helped in electing our DFL candidates. We are excited that the DFL has regained both the Minnesota House and Senate. Let’s hop with the change in leadership we can now deal with the issues affecting Minnesotans and their communities and put an end to the past partisan agenda.